#NEWS NJPW Announce G1 Entrants And Blocks

Earlier this morning, New Japan Pro Wrestling officials announced the entrants and blocks for this years G1 Climax tournament. The hype video below shows the rather extravagant announcement –

Once again the tournament will be held under round robin conditions and will be kicked off in the United States (July 6, American Airlines Center, Dallas, TX). The winner usually gets a shot at the IWGP Heavyweight champion at the Wrestle Kingdom event. Next year’s Wrestle Kingdom will be held over the 4 and 5 January next year.

The matches will be announced tomorrow (which we will cover right here at Pro Wrestling Post, don’t worry) but below are the entrants and the blocks –

Block A

Bad Luck Fale
Hiroshi Tanahashi
Lance Archer
Kazuchika Okada
Kota Ibushi
Will Ospreay
Zack Sabre Jr.

Block B

Hirooki Goto
Jay White
Jeff Cobb
Jon Moxley
Juice Robinson
Shingo Takagi
Tetsuya Naito
Tomohiro Ishii
Toru Yano

Kota Ibushi and Hiroshi Tanahashi contested last years finals, with Tanahashi coming out on top. As you can see above, both men are once again participants, and in the same block. Could they put on another Match Of The Year candidate?

This year’s G1 looks like it could be one of the very best ever held!

Blake’s Take: Take a look at those names and blocks folks! It looks like if you asked (or dared) you will receive as Jon Moxley, KENTA and Will Ospreay are all entered. But that’s not all. You have a rematch of last years final on the cards when Ibushi and Tanahashi face off once more. Los Ingobernales de Japon members EVIL and SANADA go head to head. KENTA against pretty much everybody. Moxley against Ishii, Goto, Cobb, and White…..I’m saying it now, this year’s G1 will have SOOOOO many Match Of The Year candidates!