Dean Ambrose Wins Money In The Bank Contract & the WWE Title

On this day, June 19th, 2016, Dean Ambrose Wins Money In The Bank Contract & the WWE Title. At the 2016 Money In The Bank Pay Per View, all three former members of The Shield held the WWE Championship. However, Dean Ambrose, aka Jon Moxley, left the event with the WWE title over his shoulder.

Climb the Ladder to Success

Ambrose was a participant in the Money In The Bank Ladder Match. This is the match where the winner gets a WWE Championship wherever and whenever he wants. Joining Ambrose were Alberto Del Rio, Cesaro, Chris Jericho, Kevin Owens, and Sami Zayne. Any one of these superstars could walk away as the winner. Cesaro was at the top of his game when he hit a flying uppercut on Kevin Owens. Ambrose and Jericho continued their rivalry. Jericho, who is considered the innovator of MITB, has yet to actually capture the briefcase.

At one point, three ladders were introduced, and all six men scrambled to the top. One of the ladders got shoved off as Alberto del Rio and Cesaro both ended up on the mat. In the end, Ambrose and Owens were fighting on top of the ladder when Owens fell on a ladder that was laid out like a scaffold. Ambrose seized that moment and grabbed the briefcase. He was now the Money In The Bank winner and was entitled to a title shot in the near future. Little did we know that the Lunatic Fringe was about to shock the world.

Dean Ambrose wins the WWE Money in the Bank Ladder Match: WWE Money in the Bank 2016 | WWE
Photo / WWE

Roman vs. Rollins

Next was the Main Event for the WWE Championship. Champion Roman Reigns was defending against his former Shield teammate Seth Rollins. After a brutal back and forth, Reigns finally caught Rollins with two superman punches; however, he kicked out. Give the devil his due, Seth Rollins would not quit. The match moved out of the ring. Reigns attempted a spear on Seth but hit the barricade instead. The EMTs were checking on the big dog to see if the match would continue. Rollins capitalized on this and attempted to get the win, but Roman speared him instead. The Architect was dazed, and confused Roman went for another spear but countered it with a pedigree-type move. Rollins pinned Roman and became the new WWE Champion.

Dean Ambrose wins Money In The Bank Contract & the WWE Title.
The Lunatic Fringe Cashes In

As Seth Rollins held WWE Title in his grasp, Dean Ambrose’s music hit. Rollins waited for The Lunatic to make his way down the entrance, but Ambrose was behind the newly crowned champion instead. With his MITB briefcase, he leveled Seth. He also made it clear that this was his cash in that he won only moments ago. Dean Ambrose hit a thunderous Dirty Deeds to win the WWE Championship. The Lunatic Fringe walked away as the WWE Champion. In an exclusive interview on, Ambrose said

“We made it. It’s not just me. It’s the people that supported me along the way. The people that stuck with me. Helped me stay alive. This is theirs.”
Dean Ambrose Wins Money In The Bank Contract & the WWE Title
Photo / PhillyVoice / WWE

On this night all three members of the former Shield would have held the WWE Championship. It was as much as a monumental night for Dean Ambrose as it was for all members in the faction. Ambrose would be the last of the three members to capture the WWE Championship. The championship win by Dean Ambrose would in fact be the only time he would capture the WWE Championship. But it was on this day on June 19th, 2016, Dean Ambrose Wins Money In The Bank Contract & the WWE Title.